Updated 6th October 2010

Napier Chess Club

The first Napier Chess Club was founded by Mr J.W. Witty in 1863, making it the earliest chess club in New Zealand. (from Fedor Kelling 1920)
Napier Chess Club was restarted in 1870 when Mr J.W. Witty returned.
(Start date for Napier Chess Club is in question see An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand but is their date correct? Fedor Kelling is regarded as New Zealand's first chess historian. The Encyclopaedia unfortunately did not give proof of their date.)

Napier Chess Club had a chess match by telegraph with Gisborne Chess club in 1893 ("HB Herald" ancestry.com)

Rangitikei vs Napier telegraphic match 1896

Napier Championship 1920 - H.M. Murton

In 1920 Napier beat Hastings in a 10 board match

Napier Championship 1934 - G.H. Brown 9/10

Hawke's Bay and East Coast Championship 1953

The North Island Championship is held in Hawke's Bay in 1966

Miller Trophy

Rapid 1993

Time Handicap 1994

President's annual report 1994

Blitz Championship

Napier Rating List 1996

Hawke's Bay Rapid Championship 1997

Maurice Berry (1927-2008)

Pete's Bishop

Hawke's Bay Champions

Club Champions

Napier Chess Club (pdf format) June 2009 suggestions that a regular Club night should be reinstated

Hawke's Bay Open 2010